Nine coils wiring

Wiring, circuits, batteries etc.

Nine coils wiring

Postby frankv on Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:34 pm

Hi Guys
I made a stator with nine coils but I am unsure as how to wire them in star. Most plans/ drawings I found on the net refer to six coils only. After testing my current config it is clear that I made a mistake somewhere.
All coils were tested individually and are in working order.
What I need is a simple discription of 1A to 4B etc.
I also need plans for control circuitry and am very willing to pay for such.
I need help please.
I would greatly appreciate it.
Regards
Frank Vermeulen
0846455305
frankv
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: Nine coils wiring

Postby windgat on Sun Oct 17, 2010 8:12 pm

Hey Frank, here you go: 3 coils sets, 1,2,3 with two ends A and B. Also two rectifiers.

Connect as follows:
1A-2A-3A (all connected together, and not to anything else)
1B to one AC input of the rectifier
2B to another AC input of the rectifier
3B ditto
Connect the negatives of the two rectifiers to each other.
Connect the positives of the two rectifiers to each other.

Then there is one AC input unused - ignore it.

Test by measuring the DC voltage while turning by hand. If you add one coil set at a time you will see the DC voltage climb as you add each coil set.
windgat
Founding member
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:49 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Nine coils wiring

Postby frankv on Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:25 pm

Hi Windgat
Thanks for all the help, it really came in handy.
I've been trying to post a thanxs for weeks but the site loggs me out the second I try to submit anything.
I used 1.6mm wire, 90 turns to a coil.
I get5-6v at 160 rpm and about 3 amp.
Whether i will be able to charge anything with such a low voltage amd amps looks impossible and further testing will follow at higher rpm.
Thanks for all the help.
Regards
Frank V
frankv
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:21 pm

Re: Nine coils wiring

Postby windgat on Sun Dec 12, 2010 1:43 pm

Without load, the voltage should be linear against RPM, in other words double the rpm and the voltage will double. What load (resistance) did you put on to get the 3 amp? Also, with no laod (open circuit), what voltage do you get at 160rpm?

What tip speed ratio will you blades have? If you know that, you can calculate the RPM for a given wind speed, using the radius of the blades and some simple maths.

Sorry about problems with the site - the hosting service I use is free, but a bit flaky. Seems to be working now.
windgat
Founding member
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:49 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa


Return to Electrics and controls

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron