Dummy load?

Wiring, circuits, batteries etc.

Dummy load?

Postby waugh77 on Tue Jul 29, 2008 2:37 am

Yer'all goin to git tired of my Question's, shurley. Why is there a need for a dummy load when the batteries are fully charged? Would think that the connection would open and nothing would happen? As only familier with A.C. circuit's D.C. is new territory for me.
And, have mabe, found a forktruck (Electric) for sale reasonable, and a Ford Probe with a bad enjine, got more idea's. The wife is gona kill me. Luckilly got a few acres I can hide stuff.
waugh77
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 1:05 am

Re: Dummy load?

Postby windgat on Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:45 am

Open circuit on a wind generator = runaway speeds = bearing failure, disintegration = not good.
windgat
Founding member
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 10:49 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: Dummy load?

Postby faarizamar on Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:40 am

Sounds like what you need is a watt/hour meter, or an Amp/hour meter. Or take frequent amp readings and integrate. Remember that for non constant current a digital meter can get confused and report an incorrect reading - I think that's how a few over-unity myths have started.
faari
faarizamar
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 11:37 am


Return to Electrics and controls

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron